Dog crates and the Indian Rail

I am going through a distressing fortnight these days, ever since I sent two dog crates from Delhi to Margao, Goa. I had taken two dogs from Goa to Delhi and sent the crates back from there with the view that the other two dogs would come back a fortnight later, in the same crates- by plane, the way the first two (Nikki and Ginger) went.Dog crate fastning

However, even though the crates were loaded on the train on 10th June 2016, and had to reach by 11th June here, they have still to. I made them into a big parcel, having three dog crates this time- one was a hired one, from the pet shop next door for which we are paying Rs. 180/- a day as rent and the remaining two were my own. The idea was to return the petshop one, clear its rent and take our two crates and the two dogs back.

Now we have not received the crates and everyday we are running up and down to the Margao/Madgaon station in trying to see if they have come. From Saturday, we are also in a whole lot of twitter dialogue with a number of people in the Indian Railways. It is extremely disappointing to see how the Indian Railways are not handling freight with the earlier precision with which I had sent things two years ago to Goa from Delhi.

But there is more at stake here. I have cleared up my dues with my landlord and told him I would be leaving, there are plane tickets booked, and the packers and movers have been engaged to move my home goods. However, without the dogs moving out with me, I cannot move. I cannot keep incurring the expenditure of buying crates and with the railway authorities everything seems to be going round in circles.

I am worried about something that need NOT have bothered me at all, and anguished what to say. My whole day is spent in the concern of ‘what if’s’…so this is the joy of living in India, where every part of our lives is complicated for all the wrong reasons. Talk about mental suffering. Moving home is a very taxing and resource heavy exercise as it is- and the least anyone requires is the additional burden of misplaced goods. I am suffering a huge lot- not the sort of post I am accustomed to writing on this blog. I had thought that this last week of me being in Goa would be a pleasurable one, but that seems not be be the case. I suppose this amounts to a social construction of how our little joys are so easily compromised, and what need not be a source of trouble becomes a great one.

2013-11-21 13.46.01

One thought on “Dog crates and the Indian Rail

  1. Pingback: Mr. Rail Minister-acche din dooor hain | peace matters

Leave a Reply

